AD user/group not showing correctly after add to access rule

Use this forum to post questions relating to WinGate, feature requests, technical or configuration problems

Moderator: Qbik Staff

AD user/group not showing correctly after add to access rule

Postby Poutinebbq » Jan 10 20 7:41 am

Hi,

See attachement for details.

It shows correctly until i apply the rule to make it live. then it switches to that.

What should i do to correct this situation?

thank you very much for any help
Attachments
Wingate-Access-rule.png
Wingate-Access-rule.png (3.29 KiB) Viewed 1587 times
Poutinebbq
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Jan 10 20 3:02 am

Re: AD user/group not showing correctly after add to access

Postby adrien » Jan 11 20 3:08 pm

Hi

Users / groups are stored in the rules config as a SID. This then copes with name changes on users and groups.

What should be happening is that when the rules are displayed in the list, the SID is looked up in the AD to resolve to a user or group name. Sometimes this can take a little while - if you stay logged in with WinGate Management do the names ever show up there?

If not, the search by SID may be failing for some reason, and we'd need to look at your AD connector debug logs to see what is going on - why the search is not working properly (there can be a variety of reasons).

One other question - has this ever worked, or has it always been like this?

Sometimes we find permissions set on various object attributes (AD allows you to set permissions on each attribute of each object) which can prevent some things being returned from searches.

Regards

Adrien de Croy
adrien
Qbik Staff
 
Posts: 5324
Joined: Sep 03 03 2:54 pm
Location: Auckland

Re: AD user/group not showing correctly after add to access

Postby Poutinebbq » Jan 15 20 3:32 am

Hi Adrien,

Thank you for your response. Its actually the very first time i installed the software and linked it to AD. I checked back again this morning and its still using the SID and not the user/group name. Do i have to activate the AD connector logging feature or is it on by default?

We are exploring the use of wingate to replace our aging TMG 2010.

Thanks for your help
Poutinebbq
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Jan 10 20 3:02 am

Re: AD user/group not showing correctly after add to access

Postby adrien » Jan 15 20 11:18 am

Hi

By default logging goes at warning level only to the default log file. I'd recommend turning on debug logging for the AD connector, and logging to its own file. This is in the log sources tab of the logging panel (WinGate > Control Panel > Logging)

Regards

Adrien de Croy
adrien
Qbik Staff
 
Posts: 5324
Joined: Sep 03 03 2:54 pm
Location: Auckland

Re: AD user/group not showing correctly after add to access

Postby Poutinebbq » Feb 05 20 4:44 am

Issue has been resolved.

We have multiple domains in our Forest and it was causing issues with our setup. So i gave the DNS settings just one DNS suffix to look at instead of all of them. All looks like its working fine now.

Have a good day.
Poutinebbq
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Jan 10 20 3:02 am

Re: AD user/group not showing correctly after add to access

Postby adrien » Feb 05 20 10:06 am

Hi

that's great, thanks for letting us know.

Regards

Adrien
adrien
Qbik Staff
 
Posts: 5324
Joined: Sep 03 03 2:54 pm
Location: Auckland


Return to WinGate

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests

cron