WinGate on a Server 2012 Missing Features

Use this forum to post questions relating to WinGate, feature requests, technical or configuration problems

Moderator: Qbik Staff

WinGate on a Server 2012 Missing Features

Postby cholland » Aug 23 17 6:19 pm

Hi,

I have just installed WinGate on a Server 2012 Datacentre R2 instance. Windows firewall disabled. Engine says running, but when I log onto the console there seems to be a lot of stuff missing from the Navigation panel. I can't see any errors. I've activated the 30 day trial and have the Professional trial option on. See screenshot.
Attachments
Capture.JPG
Screen grab
Capture.JPG (22.12 KiB) Viewed 755 times
cholland
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Aug 23 17 6:11 pm

Re: WinGate on a Server 2012 Missing Features

Postby adrien » Aug 25 17 10:01 am

Hi

that screenshot is what you'd expect to see with no permissions in WinGate.

When using WinGate with an Active Directory (using the AD connector in WinGate) by default permissions are granted to members of the Domain Admins group.

If you log in with another account, you will see something like this.

It can be changed if you can't use a Domain Admin account.

Adrien
adrien
Qbik Staff
 
Posts: 5212
Joined: Sep 03 03 2:54 pm
Location: Auckland

Re: WinGate on a Server 2012 Missing Features

Postby cholland » Aug 25 17 10:29 am

Thanks for getting back to me Adrien. That makes sense. My Windows logon, despite being a privileged AD account doesn't have Domain Admin rights. I switched it to the WinGate local database for authentication and it works fine. We can use this without AD integration. Thanks.
cholland
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Aug 23 17 6:11 pm

Re: WinGate on a Server 2012 Missing Features

Postby adrien » Aug 25 17 12:16 pm

It is possible to change the Domain Admin requirement.

1. Change to using WinGate User Database (which you've done)
2. In WinGate Management, go to Control Panel > Permissions
3. Edit the root object
4. Add rights for Everyone.
5. Change back to AD user database.

The "Everyone" SID is the same across all the 3 user database providers in WinGate, and so that setting will work with the AD connector, allowing you to set permissions as desired.

Adrien
adrien
Qbik Staff
 
Posts: 5212
Joined: Sep 03 03 2:54 pm
Location: Auckland


Return to WinGate

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 5 guests