Forum for all technical support and trouble shooting of the WinGate VPN.
Post a reply

Need some general answers on WinGate VPN

Feb 27 04 9:08 pm

Dear to whom ever will read this,
I am extremely curious of WinGate VPN and have many questions. I am a consultant that has been asked to help a small office with a VPN. Before the questions I need to give you some background. The small office is based in California and has consultants work on projects. One of these and possibly future projects need to be utilized over a VPN. You see most of the consultants work out of the office, at other locations and in one case there is a group operating out of Israel. I need six users including my self to be apart of the VPN.
When looking at WinGate VPN, it appears to be on a computer level as opposed to a user level. Is this correct? Because I may need to have a user get on the VPN from a computer without a license. Like may be to browse some file or something. I don't think this is going to happen but I just want to make sure.
Also I had seen a feature of the VPN Advance Server I think, is where you are able to set up two separate VPN's from the same computer. This could be a big feature. I need the user in Israel to get access to a very specific computer, while my self and others will need to get access to that one computer and others. My question is this, am I able to set up two VPN's with the same computer's shared?
Like, let's say that there is a group of three computers A, B, and C, where A and B contain general files while C is a server for Microsoft Visual Studio .net with SourceSafe. Computer C is where the user from Israel needs to get. Let's say I set up a VPN called "SourceSafe VPN", another VPN called "General Files VPN" and another called "All Files VPN." The "SourceSafe VPN" will have the C computer accessible. The "General Files VPN" will have access to the A and B computers, while the "All Files VPN" will have access to all three computers. Is this do able?