Memory Leak

Forum for support for the Kaspersky AntiVirus for WinGate plugin

Moderator: Qbik Staff

Memory Leak

Postby mmakowski57 » Nov 08 03 6:16 am

With new Kaspersky plug-in installed, WINGATE.EXE memory usage sky-rockets. It goes from about 8000KB to over 50000KB in just a few hours. Without the plug-in WINGATE.EXE fluctuates up and down slightly as you would expect. This is on a WindowsXP Pro machine with DSL connection.
mmakowski57
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Nov 07 03 7:43 pm
Location: Waco, TX

Postby labull » Nov 08 03 7:34 am

Mike,

If you have "Attempt to Clean" checked, uncheck it and see if that clears things up.

Let us know what you find.

Larry
labull
WinGate Guru
 
Posts: 706
Joined: Sep 06 03 1:03 am
Location: Washington, DC - USA

Postby mmakowski57 » Nov 08 03 12:38 pm

Larry,

I can tell it's doing better already. I'll keep watching it for awhile and see what happens.
mmakowski57
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Nov 07 03 7:43 pm
Location: Waco, TX

Postby adrien » Nov 09 03 5:11 pm

Hi

We found the issue, and have a fix... we will be running a few more tests on it tomorrow, then we should be releasing it then.

Adrien
adrien
Qbik Staff
 
Posts: 5217
Joined: Sep 03 03 2:54 pm
Location: Auckland

AV Plug-in

Postby mmakowski57 » Nov 11 03 5:14 pm

Bad news. Even with the "Attempt to Clean" option disabled on the AV plug my WinXP Pro system still is running out of resources. Today it caused the system to report insufficient resources. The QBIKEngine starting running at 99% CPU usage. However, uninstalling the plug-in and restartubg did not correct the problem. Reinstalling Wingate over the top and restoring a known good registry configuration did not help either. I had to complete uninstall Wingate, reinstall it, and then restore the previous registry settings to get Wingate running again.

This has happened to me in the past too when older versions of Wingate had memory leaks. Things were working OK with 5.1 until the plug-in was installed.
mmakowski57
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Nov 07 03 7:43 pm
Location: Waco, TX

Postby labull » Nov 12 03 1:10 am

Yup, that's about what we found here.

The folks at Qbik are aware and are working this.

It may be two seperate problems but can't be sure yet.

Thanks!

Larry
labull
WinGate Guru
 
Posts: 706
Joined: Sep 06 03 1:03 am
Location: Washington, DC - USA

update

Postby mmakowski57 » Nov 17 03 8:33 pm

Any update on this problem yet? I've trying to live without any AV protection in hopes the problem will be corrected soon. Just curious if any progress is being made.







labull wrote:Yup, that's about what we found here.

The folks at Qbik are aware and are working this.

It may be two seperate problems but can't be sure yet.

Thanks!

Larry
mmakowski57
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Nov 07 03 7:43 pm
Location: Waco, TX


Return to Kaspersky AntiVirus for WinGate

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest