Error msg while install KAV

Forum for support for the Kaspersky AntiVirus for WinGate plugin

Moderator: Qbik Staff

Error msg while install KAV

Postby cchuang » Mar 18 09 9:26 am

I am upgrading my WIngate server to a new PC running Vista 64bits. New Wingate was installed successfully, but when I tried to install KAV, it popup an error msg:

Error in custom action. The library
c:\windows\........tmp\wisecustomcalla3.dll
is invaled or could not be found.

I did not go on with installation. I like to mkae sure that, "Is current KAV compatible with Vista 64bits?", before I install it.

Same thing happened to PureSight when I tried to install it. Is it compatible with Vista 64bits?
cchuang
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Jan 02 09 3:55 am

Re: Error msg while install KAV

Postby adrien » Mar 18 09 9:56 am

Hi

Was this when you clicked anything or did this pop up straight away?

Regards

Adrien
adrien
Qbik Staff
 
Posts: 5217
Joined: Sep 03 03 2:54 pm
Location: Auckland

Re: Error msg while install KAV

Postby cchuang » Mar 18 09 9:25 pm

Hi!

It popup right after I started the in stallation.

Thank you
cchuang
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Jan 02 09 3:55 am

Re: Error msg while install KAV

Postby MOpas » Mar 23 09 6:34 am

Hi,
I experienced the same problem - error message pops up immediately after the start of installation. However, I am installing KAV on Vista with SP1 (Polish version) 32bit :-( Wingate operates perfectly, but KAV cannot be properly installed.

Your help badly needed as I did it twice (including the installation on "fresh" Windows Vista) and the error remains the same. Installation process continues but with errors and ultimately Wingate shows an error that the KAV plug-in cannot operate. Wingate advises to contact you, so I did.

Looking forward your assistance.
Marcin


cchuang wrote:Hi!

It popup right after I started the in stallation.

Thank you
MOpas
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mar 23 09 5:36 am

Re: Error msg while install KAV

Postby MOpas » Mar 25 09 10:53 am

Hmmm... I am wondering if anybody from Qbik reads this forum? Any kind of reaction would be greatly appreciated..
MOpas
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mar 23 09 5:36 am

Re: Error msg while install KAV

Postby labull » Mar 25 09 12:40 pm

MOpas,

If it's that important open a support request support@qbik.com.
WinGate 8 - Windows Server 2008 R2 - VMWare
labull
WinGate Guru
 
Posts: 706
Joined: Sep 06 03 1:03 am
Location: Washington, DC - USA

Re: Error msg while install KAV

Postby cchuang » Mar 25 09 10:10 pm

I am waiting for a reply too. Of course, it is important, or I won't post it. May be they just simply don't want to answer it for the reasons only they themselves know........ :(

cchuang
cchuang
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Jan 02 09 3:55 am

Re: Error msg while install KAV

Postby adrien » Mar 26 09 12:09 pm

Hi

Sorry you didn't get a reply yet, we have to test this in the lab.

that DLL call is made by the installer framework. It's possible it's being redirected by Vista (which likes putting files in a different place to what you ask it, but doesn't tell you), and then being unavailable for the installer.

Have you tried logging in as Administrator to do this?

In fact we are upgrading our installs for PureSight and Kaspersky AV for WinGate to solve this and other MSI-related issues.
adrien
Qbik Staff
 
Posts: 5217
Joined: Sep 03 03 2:54 pm
Location: Auckland

Re: Error msg while install KAV

Postby adrien » Mar 26 09 1:02 pm

We did see this error when uninstalling KAV for WinGate on Vista when uninstalling it from the start menu. It didn't show when uninstalling from add/remove programs.

Is this an upgrade install you are attempting or a brand new one?

We are finding it installs fine for us on Vista.

Regards

Adrien
adrien
Qbik Staff
 
Posts: 5217
Joined: Sep 03 03 2:54 pm
Location: Auckland

Re: Error msg while install KAV

Postby cchuang » Mar 26 09 10:36 pm

Thank you for your reply.

I did logged in as administer.

I installed newest version of Wingate on a new PC with Windows VBista 64 bits, not just Vista. It's not an upgrade, I have an older PC running Wingate w/KAV and Puresight add-On. The error pop right up after I start installation.

looking forward to hear from you,

cchuang
cchuang
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Jan 02 09 3:55 am

Re: Error msg while install KAV

Postby MOpas » Mar 27 09 7:58 am

Thanks for the reaction.

I am installing KAV as an Administrator on "fresh" installation of Vista 32 bit with SP1. KAV is not an upgrade or renew of the license. It is also "fresh", first time installation.

Any hints?

Marcin
MOpas
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mar 23 09 5:36 am

Re: Error msg while install KAV

Postby adrien » Mar 30 09 11:37 pm

Hi

I have a new KAV installer you can try if you like.

The installer is at

http://www.wingate.com/downloads/Kaspersky2.1.exe

notes:

1. It's a lot bigger than the old installers, since it contains up to date virus database (as at yesterday). This makes up the bulk of the installer.
2. It can take quite a while (couple of minutes) for the engine to start with this version of the Kaspersky SDK and up to date bases. We're working on a new version with their latest SDK.
adrien
Qbik Staff
 
Posts: 5217
Joined: Sep 03 03 2:54 pm
Location: Auckland

Re: Error msg while install KAV

Postby cchuang » Mar 31 09 3:26 am

Thank you.

I am downloading it right now,( but it is not actually downloading ,) I'll try it later if it does not work. If I successfully download it , I'll let you know the outcome of my test. By the way, I have exact the same problem w/PureSight, do you have an answer for that too?

Thank you for your time,

cchuang
cchuang
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Jan 02 09 3:55 am

Re: Error msg while install KAV

Postby adrien » Mar 31 09 9:05 am

hi

yes, see http://forums.qbik.com/viewtopic.php?f=19&t=39686

the download may be a bit slow since it's not coming from our hosting site.
adrien
Qbik Staff
 
Posts: 5217
Joined: Sep 03 03 2:54 pm
Location: Auckland

Re: Error msg while install KAV

Postby MOpas » Apr 04 09 11:19 pm

Hi,

Sorry for the late response but I was away from the office for a while. The link that you provided to KAV 2.1 worked fine. The installation went through smoothly. The activation and updates work also fine. Thank you for your assistance!
MOpas
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mar 23 09 5:36 am


Return to Kaspersky AntiVirus for WinGate

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron