Kaspersky shown as unlicensed after upgrade to 3.0.1

Forum for support for the Kaspersky AntiVirus for WinGate plugin

Moderator: Qbik Staff

Kaspersky shown as unlicensed after upgrade to 3.0.1

Postby G_Werner » Jan 11 11 5:16 am

Hello,

after upgrading to version 3.0.1 (from 2.0) the Kaspersky plugin is shown as unlicensed when I click the Plugins button in the task bar. However under Help/License management the license is shown as activated. Downloading virus definition updates fails with the message "Unable to obtain interface for Kaspersky Antivirus for Wingate".
My configuration is Windows 7 x64 with Wingate 6.6.4.

Regards
Guenther
G_Werner
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Jan 11 11 5:04 am

Re: Kaspersky shown as unlicensed after upgrade to 3.0.1

Postby adrien » Jan 11 11 1:21 pm

Hi Guenther

We have also recently just seen this problem, and have escalated it to Kaspersky Labs.

At the moment the only way we found to resolve it was to reinstall the OS. This may or may not be an option for you.

Another way to get it working is to adjust the system clock on that computer to a date prior to 5 January 2011. The key that we shipped with that installer was issued on 10 December 2010, and should be good for over 2 years. There are only a very small number of systems that we now know about with this problem.

This problem is currently our top priority, and I'll keep you posted, at the moment it looks like it could be a bug in the scanning binaries from Kaspersky Labs.

Regards

Adrien de Croy
adrien
Qbik Staff
 
Posts: 5212
Joined: Sep 03 03 2:54 pm
Location: Auckland

Re: Kaspersky shown as unlicensed after upgrade to 3.0.1

Postby adrien » Jan 13 11 2:44 am

Hi

we got a response from Kaspersky Labs, and it looks like we found the problem.

Apparently one of the files involved in their licensing system (there are 2 - appinfo.kli and Kaspersky.key) was only meant to be a testing key, and not to be used with production keys. Would have been nice to know this.

So we have a replacement appinfo.kli file which should fix the problem. You can download it from the link below.

http://www.wingate.com/downloads/appinfo.kli

it needs to replace the file of the same name which lives in Program files\WinGate\Plugins\Kaspersky AntiVirus 3.0\Bin

We will also need to release yet another update so other new installs don't suffer this problem.

Regards

Adrien
adrien
Qbik Staff
 
Posts: 5212
Joined: Sep 03 03 2:54 pm
Location: Auckland

Re: Kaspersky shown as unlicensed after upgrade to 3.0.1

Postby G_Werner » Jan 13 11 6:56 am

Hi,

after uninstalling the plugin, reinstalling it and replacing the license file the plugin works as expected.
Thanks for the quick response.

Regards

Guenther
G_Werner
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Jan 11 11 5:04 am


Return to Kaspersky AntiVirus for WinGate

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron