Licence with new public beta

Discussion for beta versions of WinGate

Licence with new public beta

Postby olaf.krause » May 29 11 7:27 pm

Hi

just wanted to update from beta 7 to public beta 7 but does not work due to licence not valid for wingate 7 (I used the licence for all betas)

What to do?
olaf.krause
WinGate Master
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Oct 03 03 9:41 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Licence with new public beta

Postby adrien » May 29 11 7:37 pm

HI Olaf

We changed licensing about build 3220. If your current license doesn't activate in 7 it means version protection on it expired prior to 1 Jan this year.

Because of all the new features, and we can't really justify giving them away for free, yet the product won't work without them, we had to break with tradition and not allow previous licenses with reduced features. Updating basically means renewing version protection.

You can activate a trial in the meantime, and we can sort something out with your license. There will be a few cases I think need some flexibility.

Regards

Adrien
adrien
Qbik Staff
 
Posts: 5201
Joined: Sep 03 03 2:54 pm
Location: Auckland

Re: Licence with new public beta

Postby olaf.krause » May 29 11 7:44 pm

thx I think further conv. can be done via PM
olaf.krause
WinGate Master
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Oct 03 03 9:41 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Licence with new public beta

Postby adrien » May 29 11 8:42 pm

sure, just submit a ticket to our support desk and we can go from there.

Regards

Adrien
adrien
Qbik Staff
 
Posts: 5201
Joined: Sep 03 03 2:54 pm
Location: Auckland

Re: Licence with new public beta

Postby olaf.krause » Jun 04 11 5:38 pm

Installation seems to work only properly if you have Internet access. After changing routes and DNS it worked.
olaf.krause
WinGate Master
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Oct 03 03 9:41 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Licence with new public beta

Postby adrien » Jun 04 11 7:32 pm

Hi Olaf

it's probably a certificate checking issue.

All our manifests and modules are signed, and signatures are checked when loading. If some certificates in the chain are missing, the OS downloads them. You can see if this happened by looking in the event log for system, look for events from CAPI about downloading certificates.

We install a couple of certs in our installer, and in fact the signature should be checkable already from when you installed? Since even the installer is signed, and normally the OS checks that.

Adrien
adrien
Qbik Staff
 
Posts: 5201
Joined: Sep 03 03 2:54 pm
Location: Auckland


Return to WinGate Beta

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron